

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University Coimbatore – 641 003

Dr. M. Jegadeesan, Ph.D., Assistant Public Relations Officer

Mobile: 94890 56730

Phone: 0422 - 6611302

Fax: 0422 – 2431821 E-mail: pro@tnau.ac.in

Date: 19-12-2015

The Editor,

Sir,

To

I request that the following matter may kindly be published in your esteemed daily:

University Level NSS Advisory Committee held in TNAU

University level Advisory Committee meeting of National Service Scheme was held on 18-12-2015 in Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) under the championship of Dr. K. Ramasamy, Vice – Chancellor.

Dr. K. Kumutha, NSS Programme Co-ordinator, TNAU, presented the action taken report of 2014-2015 and then colleges were divided into five groups region wise for preparing action plan for 2016.

Apart from the routine activities like tree planting, blood donation, Health camps, emphasis to be given on protection of water bodies, Rain Water Harvesting, Importance of Nutritious and health foods to school children and volunteers, Water Saving measures, Roof Gardening, Nurturing the creativity and soft skills of studnts, Soil health measures, Self defense and personnel hygiene of girls, Disaster management, incubating social responsibility to volunteers by visiting old age homes were stressed by the Vice-Chancellor.

The Group Discussion was coordinated by Dr. S. Mahimairaja, Dean (Agri), TNAU. Mr. Samuel Chelliah, Director, NSS Regional Centre, Chennai appreciated the laudable review and critical remarks of the Vice-Chancellor and reiterated that impact studies have to be carried one after the successful implementation of programmes.

1

Mr. Mahesh Prabhu, Karunya University Coordinator and Mr. T. Radhakrishnan, Bharathiar University Coordinator participated and offered valuable comments.

A video of NSS activities of 2015 was prepared and screened by Selvan N. Mohandass. 70 members including the Registrar, Deans of constituent and affiliated colleges and NSS Officers participated.

Finally, Dr. M.R. Latha, NSS Program officer, TNAU proposed formal vote of thanks.

Asst. Public Relations Officer